University Archives

The Charles Sturt Regional Archives is responsible for managing the permanent archives of the various sections, divisions, faculties and schools from all the campuses of Charles Sturt University.

We are also responsible for the archives from the University's precursor institutions, such as the Riverina College of Advanced Education, the Mitchell College of Advanced Education, the Wagga Agricultural College, the Wagga Wagga Teachers' College, the Goulburn Teachers' College and the Wagga Experiment Farm.

A guide to some of the archives of these precursor institutions is available in our Guide to State Archives at Charles Sturt Regional Archives - Education and Training. For information on University records not listed in the guide, please contact our Reference Archivist.

Depositing Records

Staff of Charles Sturt University needing to deposit University records with the Archives MUST contact the University Records Manager before sending records to the Archives.

Procedures for the archiving or disposing of records can be found on the Records Management website.

Archival boxes are available from the Archives (email the Collection Management Archivist) and when packing records for transport via the internal mail service, please remember:

  • Records with the same retention period must be boxed together;
  • All metal fastenings must be removed (this includes lever-arch folders and suspension files - papers can be tied up with cotton tape and labelled appropriately);
  • Boxes must be suitably fastened for transport and have the sending office, school, etc. written on each box, along with "Send to: Charles Sturt Regional Archives, Bldg 514, Wagga South Campus";
  • A complete list of the records must be sent to the Collection Management Archivist.

Please note that it is the responsibility of the Charles Sturt Regional Archives to carry out routine destruction of University records in accordance with legislation and guidelines as outlined by the State Archives and Records Authority of New South Wales. Under the NSW State Records Act 1998, universities are defined as 'public offices' and made subject to the requirements of the Act.